The coming Presidential election will have profound consequences for the future of our country and the world. To preserve our freedoms, protect our constitutional government, safeguard our national security, and ensure that all members of our nation will be able to work together for a better future, it is imperative that Hillary Clinton be elected as the next President of the United States. Some of the most pressing problems that the new President will face — the devastating effects of debilitating diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease and cancer, the need for alternative sources of energy, and climate change and its consequences — require vigorous support for science and technology and the assurance that scientific knowledge will inform public policy. Such support is essential to this country’s economic future, its health, its security, and its prestige. Strong advocacy for science agencies, initiatives to promote innovation, and sensible immigration and education policies are crucial to the continued preeminence of the U.S. scientific work force. We need a President who will support and advance policies that will enable science and technology to flourish in our country and to provide the basis of important policy decisions. For these reasons and others, we, as U.S. Nobel Laureates concerned about the future of our nation, strongly and fully support Hillary Clinton to be the President of the United States.

Peter Agre, Chemistry 2003

Sidney Altman, Chemistry 1989

Philip W. Anderson, Physics 1977

Kenneth J. Arrow, Economics 1972

David Baltimore, Medicine 1975

Paul Berg, Chemistry 1980

Gunter Blobel, Medicine 1999

J. Michael Bishop, Medicine 1989

Michael S. Brown, Medicine 1985

Linda B. Buck, Medicine 2004

Mario R. Capecchi, Medicine 2007

Martin Chalfie, Chemistry 2008

Steven Chu, Physics 1997

Leon N. Cooper, Physics 1972

Angus S. Deaton, Economics 2015

Johann Deisenhofer, Chemistry 1988

Peter A. Diamond, Economics 2010

Peter C. Doherty, Medicine 1996

Edmond H. Fischer, Medicine 1992

Jerome I. Friedman, Physics 1990

Walter Gilbert, Chemistry 1980

Sheldon Glashow, Physics 1979

Joseph L. Goldstein, Medicine 1985

Paul Greengard, Medicine 2000

Carol W. Greider, Medicine 2009

David J. Gross, Physics 2004

Roger Guillemin, Medicine 1977

Oliver Hart, Economics 2016

Leland H. Hartwell, Medicine 2001

Dudley R. Herschbach, Chemistry 1986

Roald Hoffmann, Chemistry 1981

H. Robert Horvitz, Medicine 2002

Louis J. Ignarro, Medicine 1998

Daniel Kahneman, Economics 2002

Eric R. Kandel, Medicine 2000

Brian K. Kobilka, Chemistry 2012

Roger D. Kornberg, Chemistry 2006

Leon M. Lederman, Physics 1988

Robert J. Lefkowitz, Chemistry 2012

Anthony J. Leggett, Physics 2003

Michael Levitt, Chemistry 2013

Rudolph A. Marcus, Chemistry 1992

Eric S. Maskin, Economics 2007

John C. Mather, Physics 2006

Daniel L. McFadden, Economics 2000

Craig C. Mello, Medicine 2006

William E. Moerner, Chemistry 2014

Mario J. Molina, Chemistry 1995

Ferid Murad, Medicine 1998

Roger B. Myerson, Economics 2007

Arno Penzias, Physics 1978

Edmund S. Phelps, Economics 2006

Stanley B. Prusiner, Medicine 1997

Randy W. Schekman, Medicine 2013

Thomas C. Schelling, Economics 2005

Richard R. Schrock, Chemistry 2005

William F. Sharpe, Economics 1990

Robert J. Shiller, Economics 2013

Hamilton O. Smith, Medicine 1978

Thomas A. Steitz, Chemistry 2009

J. Fraser Stoddart, Chemistry 2016

Thomas C. Sudhof, Medicine 2013

Jack W. Szostak, Medicine 2009

Joseph H. Taylor Jr., Physics 1993

Daniel C. Tsui, Physics 1998

Harold E. Varmus, Medicine 1989

James Watson, Medicine 1962

Steven Weinberg, Physics 1979

Eric F. Wieschaus, Medicine 1995

Torsten N. Wiesel, Medicine 1981

Robert Woodrow Wilson, Physics 1978

David J. Wineland, Physics 2012

The views expressed in this letter represent those of the signers acting as individual citizens. They do not necessarily represent the views of the institutions with which they are affiliated. The Medicine award is for “Physiology or Medicine.”